The Deschutes National Forest in Deschutes County offers countless year-round recreation opportunities. 

Five wilderness areas fall within the Deschutes National Forest boundary – Diamond Peak, Mt. Jefferson, Mt. Thielsen, Mt. Washington and Three Sisters. 

Drill down into the 12 Deschutes recreation areas below to learn more about each area, including stunning image galleries, maps, directions, and links to campground reservations.

Whychus Creek Scenic Overlook Trailhead

74 Deschutes National Forest Camping Areas

Activities Auto Touring, Biking, Boating, Camping, Interpretive Programs, Fishing, Hiking, Horseback Riding, Off Highway Vehicle, Picnicking, Winter Sports, Recreational Vehicles, Visitor Center, Wildlife Viewing, Fire Lookouts/cabins Overnight, Swimming, Horse Camping

» Learn More »